Freestyle red velvet cupcakes


Red velvet cupcakes
For my friend’s birthday I knew she would love a cake frosting plunger. (We often bake together and have always dreamt of making those gorgeous pimped up cupcakes you often see in posh boutique windows)
We decided to jazz up a normally quite run-of-the-mill cupcake batter batch with a dollop or two of red food colouring (not the healthiest addition to my mix I must say, I’m planning to try out the natural recipe alternative soon so keep tuning in)
Step one:
Make your cupcake batter.Yet again I had to use my favourite Jamie Oliver cake mix  (sorry guys but I just cannot change my ways, I love this darn recipe!)
I halved the recipe which is the following:
  • 125g butter
  • 125g flour
  • 125g sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • Dash of vanilla flavouring
  • 2-3 drops of red food colouring
Topping:
  • If you want to go for the proper red velvet recipe it’s all about creme cheese frosting
  • Alternatively you can of course use basic buttercream icing (no way near as posh but its tasty and it works all the same)
  • To do this it’s as easy as pie:
    • 140g butter, softened
    • 280g icing sugar
    • 1-2 tbsp milk
    • Mix all together and voila!
Leave a Reply

