Gin & Tonic Cupcakes


Get tipsy on these fresh and tasty treats.

Gin & Tonic cupcakes

Hel-lo boozesponge

When it comes to booze I am a major fan of the G&T; it’s not too sickly sweet and it’s not too overwhelmingly alcoholic. A great tipple to get you feeling woozy on a warm summers eve without the beer gut or wine head. After the success of my Cosmo cupcakes I was keen to try another alco-cake recipe….and what a success this one was: A meringue-style base coupled with a topping made with my fave spirit I was sold.

It was all thanks to this website: www.yumsugar.com. From which I adapted my recipe. The original recipe came from this amazing book: Gorgeous Cakes, which I have  checked out previously and intend to get my mitts on next Christmas (ahem! hint).

Ingredients

Love it! My fave drink in a cake

Cake

  • 2 medium egg whites
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 110g confectioner’s sugar (icing sugar)  sifted
  • 50g flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons tonic water

Frosting

  • 80g mascarpone cheese
  • 1 tablespoon gin
  • 2 tablespoons corn syrup
  • Green food coloring
  • Lime slices covered in sugar/jellied lime/ lemon slices (for garnish)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 250c. With an electric hand mixer, beat the egg whites in a bowl adding the  salt and cream of tartar until they are risen.
  2. Now beat in the sugar, a few tablespoons at a time. Sprinkle it over the egg whites and beat about 20 seconds with each addition.
  3. Fold the sifted flour into the meringue in three stages, and then stir in the tonic water.
  4. Arrange  baking cups inside a muffin tin and fill two thirds full.
  5. Bake for 15ish minutes (until lightly golden on the surface and still springy to the touch. Remove and let cool – patience…)
  6. Spoon mascarpone into a bowl and beat in the gin and then the syrup and tint it a pale green with a little food coloring (I needed about 3 drops).
  7. Fill an icing bag to frost the cupcakes. (this can get messy!)
  8. Use a toothpick to spear lime slices in sugar  and pop one on top of each cupcake.
  9. There you go….edible G ‘n’ Ts…Life just got loads better….


3 Responses to Gin & Tonic Cupcakes

  1. […] I then added some mascarpone topping to finish (my own invention, inspired from the success of the Gin & Tonic cupcakes I recently […]

  2. simple syrup recipe for lemonade…

    […]Gin & Tonic Cupcakes « Cake or Mistake?[…]…

  3. I really like looking through a post that will make men and women
    think. Also, many thanks for permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

