Carrot cake action


Finally. Time to bake again… so exciting! But what exactly shall I make?

seriously make me

I was thinking, ‘so I’ve conquered the courgette cake concoction, and the sweet potato too – but what about the original vegetable cake? The carrot.’ Believe it or not people, as crazy as I am about baking I have never made such a cake before. It sits nicely in my blog as a little vegetable trio of veg cakes so I thought it was time to test the water with this one.

I looked at the recipe from ecochildsplay. It looked tasty and most importantly simple to make – sold!

Here’s my adaptation:

Ingredients:

  • 200g Brown sugar
  • 50g vegetable oil
  • Three eggs

Whisk the ingredients together for one minute (you can hand whisk)

  • Add 200g self-raising flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

whisking fun

    Whisk together again for two minutes

    Then add:

    • 200g shredded carrots (about five)
    • 70g chopped walnuts

    That's what it's all about..

      Whisk one more time for about a minute

      Bake for about 1/2 hour

      Check with a fork to see if there’s any goo – if there is it’s not quite ready.

      Topping

      • 200g Creme fraiche
      • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
      • Two teaspoons of maple syrup

      Mix together and spread on top of cake.

      Sprinkle on more walnuts if you fancy it.

      Done.

      The carrot cake: almost healthy but not quite..

      Verdict? Carrot cake success.

      Taste: Really soft texture, also tastes really wholesome, you can almost kid yourself it’s healthy – my housemate had to sit me down and explain it really wasn’t one of my five a day though sadly.

      Tips? Do it!

      2 Responses to Carrot cake action

      1. OH MY! That looks delicious. I know what I am going to be making tomorrow 🙂

        Marcie
        http://startingacakebusiness.com/
        Where anyone can start their own cake decorating business.

      Leave a Reply

