Jammy cupcakes with mascarpone topping


One of my fellow baking buddies made some scrumptious vanilla cupcakes with a gooey strawberry middle….had to get in on the action.

I followed my favourite Jamie Oliver sponge cake recipe (from his COOK with Jamie book) and coupled it with some advice I got here on how to fill a cupcake with jam. I then added some mascarpone topping to finish (my own invention, inspired from the success of the Gin & Tonic cupcakes I recently made).

Make it:

You will need:

  • Sponge mixture:
  • 225g unsalted butter
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 4 Free-range eggs (to give it that extra wow factor)
  • Topping:
  • 250g Mascarpone cheese
  • 50g Icing sugar

Method: Cake mixture:

  1. Preheat the oven, 200c
  2. Beat the butter and sugar together
  3. Add the eggs one at a time
  4. Add the flour
  5. Grease each cupcake holder (if you’re using silicon ones so they don’t stick)
  6. Put in the oven and you’re ready to go!
  7. Cook for about 10 minutes
  8. Cool it
  9. Spoon out a little bit of the middle of each cupcake
  10. Fill with jam

Topping:

  • Mix mascarpone cheese with sugar
  • Spread or pipe it on the top of each cupcake

3 Responses to Jammy cupcakes with mascarpone topping

  1. Chef Dennis says:

    they look sooo good! I love the marscapone frosting!

  2. [...] Jamie’s finest (It’s ALL about the four eggs I tell [...]

  3. [...] So I used my fave Jamie O recipe, (why  change!) all is the same except the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

